Rau Named Minn. Mr. Hockey

Kyle Rau, Chad’s younger brother, received a pretty nice honor. Here a repost of The View From the Lighthouse blog over at Wild.com…

Rau Named Minnesota’s Mr. Hockey; Lyon Takes Brimsek

The day after poking in a loose puck in triple overtime to defeat Duluth East and give Eden Prairie its second state championship in three years, Kyle Rau received one more honor. Rau was named the recipient of the 27th annual Mr. Hockey Award given by the Minnesota Minutemen to the top senior hockey player in the state.

Rau is a Minnesota Gopher recruit, and the younger brother of Wild prospect Chad Rau, currently playing for the Houston Aeros of the American Hockey League.

He beat out nine other finalists including: Josh Archibald (Brainerd High School), Ben Bahe (Hill-Murray), Jon Brodzinski (Blaine High School), Tony Cameranesi (Wayzata High School), Patrick Daly (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Max Everson (Edina High School), Steven Fogarty (Edina High School), Garrett Hendrickson (Virginia High School) and Joe LaBate (Academy of Holy Angels).

Alex Lyon from Lake of the Woods High School received The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of Minnesota’s top senior goaltender. Andrew Ford of Eden Prairie was the other finalist for the award.

Rau joins a distinguished list of past Mr. Hockey winners: Nick Bjugstad (2010), Nick Leddy (2009), Aaron Ness (2008), Ryan McDonagh (2007), David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowsky (2004) Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s