Live From Xcel…

Start of the 3rd period from Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul – it’s 3-1 Wild. ..

I said this the last time I was fortunate enough to see an NHL game from this barn, but WOW, what an atmosphere.  Tonight is the 4th largest regular season crowd in Wild history and this place has been buzzing since the puck dropped.

Minnesota natives Chad Rau, Jarod Palmer and Nate Prosser took part in the traditional “Let’s Play Hockey” that starts every home game here in St. Paul.  The guys weren’t letting on to it, but I think they were pretty nervous…19,000 people were staring them and in my opinion,  it’s really not in the character of those three guys to yell into a microphone in front of all those fans.  But they didn’t screw it up and with the spotlight on them, they came through big time.

Three Aeros On A Big Stage...

I’m really looking forward to calling the Aeros game tomorrow afternoon from an NHL vantage point – a complete birds-eye view.  On another AHL note, it looks like the Aeros are getting a little bit of help right now with Manitoba front-running on San Antonio, 4-0 in the third period.

Hoping to catch up with my old buddy, B.J. Crombeen of the Blues following the game.   He played in Boise, when I was calling Steelheads’  games back in 2007.   I was lucky enough to “be part” of a championship season that year, something I don’t think I’ll ever forget.

Tomorrow’s Aeros broadcast starts at 12:45 pm tomorrow on 1070 KNTH and wild.com.  Hope you can tune in…now my attention goes back to the third period.

– Aero Joe

Leave a Reply

